Natural Remedy for Impetigo

Not a picture of my son, but rash looked similar (it was more localized under his lower lip).

Picture Source.

Lovely that my almost 3 year old picked up a strange rash from preschool.  The rash started out light pink and almost formed a line under his lower lip.  It looked like a lower lip under the lip.  I am not sure about the exact diagnosis, but I am pretty sure he picked it up from school.  These rashes tend to be viral, fungal, or bacterial.  I heard from a few other moms that impetigo was going around.  Impetigo is a bacterial skin infection.  My sons rash was not that bad looking, but I treated it aggressively anyway…they can get worse and spread quickly.

Just so you know… the 2 most common bacteria that cause skin infections are:

  1. Group A Streptococcus (GAS), often called “strep.”
  2. Staphylococcus aureus, commonly called “staph.

Impetigo falls under #1.  What is impetigo? 

Impetigo is a common bacterial skin infection caused by Group A Streptococcus (GAS) or “strep.”

Group A Streptococcus (GAS) or “strep” is a common bacterium (bacterium is the singular form of the plural, bacteria) that is found on the skin or in the throat (“strep throat”). People can carry GAS and have no symptoms of illness or they may develop relatively mild skin infections, including impetigo.

It is very contagious.  How does it spread? 
Group A Streptococcus (GAS) or “strep” can be transmitted through direct person-to-person contact with someone who has the infection. GAS can also be picked up indirectly through contact with an item (such as a wrestling mat, gear, towel, razor, or cell phone) that is contaminated with the bacterium.
Symptoms? (These really confirmed my diagnosis)
  • Symptoms usually began 1-3 days after infection.
  • Sores (lesions) begin as small red spots, usually on the face (especially around the nose and mouth), but can appear anywhere on the body.
  • The sores are often itchy, but usually not painful.
  • The sores develop into blisters that break open and ooze fluid — this fluid contains infectious bacteria that can infect others if they have contact with it.
  • After a few days, the ruptured blisters form a flat, thick, honey-colored (yellowish-brown) crust that eventually disappears, leaving red marks that heal without scarring.
  • There may be swollen glands (enlarged lymph nodes), but usually no fever.

My sons case was mild, due to his strong immune system and healthy diet.  He really only developed the small red spots and we began our natural treatment immediately.  He did not develop the oozing blisters, but he may have had I not acted promptly.  If your child has a stubborn case of impetigo these natural suggestions may help him/her heal.

Essential Oils for Impetigo: add a few drops to a carrier oil (coconut oil)

Geranium, Lavender, Tea Tree Oil

Why Coconut Oil?   It is antibacterial and antiviral.

I also started spraying colloidal silver 3 times a day on his chin.  His rash started to improve after the first day (by not getting any worse) and was 90 percent better between day 4-5.  Really the silver is the only thing I did consistently.  I added the essential oils to his bath each night and rubbed coconut oil on his face (when he would allow it!).  Which was not often.

I limited his natural sugar intake (less fruit and fewer homemade baked treats).  Increased his protein intake: raw yogurt, raw milk, cheese, and eggs.

I know the juice and processed cookies he is eating at preschool is not helping in the health department, so I kept him home for a week.  We spent lots of time outdoors in the sunshine and open air.  He only attends preschool twice a week, but I guess that is enough to pick up the germs.  I would love to keep him home full time, but he BEGS and CRIES to go to school (very loudly I might add).  It is tough to say no.  He is my social extrovert! What can I do???

Now just in case I was wrong about my sons diagnosis and he ended up having a fungal infection around the skin (which is another very common thing in preschool).  These natural remedies are still going to help.  The colloidal silver is anti fungal and the essential oils are anti-fungal as well.

Essential Oils for Ringworm:

Tea Tree oil and Oregano.

Love that about natural remedies~ many remedies do the same things!

Hope these suggestions help!

GreenBootGirl

Remember to always check with your doctor first.

4 thoughts on “Natural Remedy for Impetigo

  1. Gargle hydrogen preoxide. It works really well. ReallyI also use it for sore throats and being sick.Just don’t swallow it (theres a whole health practice aroundt that, but if you want to do it, you have to buy 35% food grade hydrogen preoxide, and then dillute it to less than 1%).I’m not sure if this counts as a natural remedy , but the naturopaths basically endorse alternative health/non conventional medicine, and the oxygen therapies fall under that bubble.Techincally preoxide is basically natural since your body produces it to kill bacteria anyhow.Hopefully your strep throat is light enough that gargling H2O2 will kill it, but otherwise you might need to use more drastic methods (like swallowing it, or seeing a doctor).

  2. I love your site Kaley! I just started reading it and I think you have a lot of great information on here. I am slowly trying to change my family’s eating habits and I’ve picked up a lot of great tips from your posts.

Leave a Reply

