Natural Remedy for Swollen Gums

A week ago I woke up with swollen painful gums in the back of my mouth.  This swollen inflamed area is the area that most people have wisdom teeth (not me… I never developed any wisdom teeth).  My swollen gums were on the bottom left side of my jaw.  It started out as a little pain but within 48 hours it became much more painful.  I knew then it was not getting better and I needed to address the issue quickly.  Of course this is happening right during the middle of our move! I am sure the stress of the move contributed to my immune system decline.  Stress can really catch me off guard sometimes and this move was particularly stressful.

I did not have the time or desire to see a dentist.  I am sure I would have been prescribed some sort of medication.  I googled gum pain/ swollen gums.  Many things popped up and I selected a few natural remedies to try…. and it worked!!! It was not overnight, but within 2 days the pain and tenderness had subsided 80 percent and by day 3 it was 100 percent better.  What a relief!  No dentist or prescription medications needed.

Here is what worked for me:

Step 1.  Hydrogen Peroxide Mouthwash.

Start Immediately for swollen and painful gums.  Pour 1-2 TBSP in a cup and pour into mouth.  Swish around for 1-3 minutes. Spit out.  Do this 1-3 times a day until the issue is resolved.

Step 2.   Tea Tree Oil

Take a q-tip and put 1 drop of tea tree oil on it.  Place the q-tip on the swollen area (this is not recommended for everyone).  It worked for me, but I had a pocket of swollen tissue that was very obvious.  Not everyone may need this remedy.  Also, it did burn for just a moment.  Do not get it on the sides of your mouth or your lips.  As always use essential oils with caution.

Step 3.  Baking Soda w/ tooth brush

Right off the bat I started using straight baking soda for brushing my teeth at night. At the end of brushing I put a little clump of baking soda right on the swollen area.

Step 4.  Clove Oil

This suggestion came from my facebook page .  I am not sure how often to use it, but it would have been my next remedy to try if my other 3 suggestions hadn’t  healed the pain and tenderness 100 percent.

Hope this helps someone with the same problem.

GreenBootGirl

Picture Credit

2 thoughts on “Natural Remedy for Swollen Gums

  1. I’m all for natural remedies. So glad this worked for you! And clove essential oil is great for toothache pain, not sure about swollen gums, but worth a try.

  2. I’m all for natural remedies. So glad this worked for you! And clove essential oil is great for toothache pain, not sure about swollen gums, but worth a try.

Leave a comment